Department of Botany

1.   Name of Dept.    
2.   HOD                              
:   Dr. Anjani Kumar Srivastava
3.   About Department :  

University Department of Botany came into existence in 1955. Apart from the regular course, there are three self-financed vocational courses, namely, M.SC. Biotechnology, Post Graduate Diploma in Plant Biotechnology, and Post Graduate Diploma in Medicinal Plants .The Department is actively engaged in research work, and seminal work has been done in the field of tissue culture and medicinal plants. The mission and vision of the Department is quality teaching and quality research work.

Thrust Area of Research: Biotechnology, Ethnobotany, Cytogenetics, Plant Pathology,Microbiology and Plant Breeding.

Research Fellowship: UGC – 1, INSPIRE Fellowship – 1 Maulana Azad Fellowship – 1

Self-Financing/Vocational Course:

  1. M.Sc. in Biotechnology
  2. P.G. Diploma in Medicinal Plants
  3. P.G.Diploma in Plant Biotechnology
    Special Papers Taught          
:   1. Algology & Algal Biotechnology 2. Pathology and Microbiology 3. Cytogenetics & Plant Breeding 4. Plant Physiology & Biotechnology 5. Plant Taxonomy 6. Ethno botany.

4.   Faculty position:





Mobile No.


University Professor

Dr. P.K. Pandey

Dr. Anjani Kumar Srivastava

Dr. H.B. Sahu 

Dr.Ramesh Kumar Pandey      (Presently V.C , R.U )

Dr. Ashok Kumar Choudhary

Dr. Jyoti Kumar

Dr. Hanuman Pd. Sharma                                          

Dr. (Mrs.) Kunul Kandir

Dr. (Mrs.) Kamini Kumar

M.Sc. Ph.D.

M.Sc. Ph.D. LL.B.

M.Sc. Ph.D. LL.B.

M.Sc. Ph.D.

M.Sc. Ph.D.

M.Sc. Ph.D.

M.Sc. Ph.D. B.Ed.                       

M.Sc. Ph.D.  

M.Sc. Ph.D.








Dr. R. K. Jha 

M.Sc. Ph.D.


Admission Eligibility: BSc/ BSc (Hons). Duration 2 years (Four semesters) with an exam at the end of each semester.